Early Learning Framework (EYLF)

Early Years Learning Framework is part of the Council of Australian Government’s (COAG) reform for early childhood education and care and is a key component of the Australian Government’s National Quality Framework for early childhood education and care. It underpins universal access to early childhood education and has been incorporated in the National Quality Standard in order to ensure delivery of nationally consistent and quality early childhood education across sectors and jurisdictions.

The Early Years Learning Framework describes the principles, practice and outcomes essential to support and enhance young children’s learning from birth to five years of age, as well as their transition to school.  The Framework has a strong emphasis on play-based learning as play is the best vehicle for young children’s learning providing the most appropriate stimulus for brain development. The Framework also recognises the importance of communication and language (including early literacy and numeracy) and social and emotional development.

A vision for children’s learning

Fundamental to the Framework is a view of children’s lives as characterised by Belonging, Being & Becoming.


Experiencing belonging – knowing where and with whom you belong – is integral to human existence.  Belonging is central to being and becoming in that it shapes who children are and who they can become.


Being recognises the significance of the here and now in children’s lives.


Becoming reflects the process of rapid and significant change that occurs in the early years as young children learn and grow.

The Framework provides broad direction for early childhood educators in early childhood settings to facilitate children’s learning.

Elements of the Framework

The Framework puts children’s learning at the core and comprises three inter-related elements: Principles, Practice and Learning Outcomes. All three elements are fundamental to early childhood pedagogy and curriculum decision-making.

Children’s Learning

Children’s learning is dynamic, complex and holistic. Physical, social, emotional, personal, spiritual, creative, cognitive and linguistic aspects of learning are all intricately interwoven and interrelated.

Play is a context for learning that:

  • allows for the expression of personality and uniqueness
  • enhances dispositions such as curiosity and creativity
  • enables children to make connections between prior experiences and new learning
  • assists children to develop relationships and concepts
  • stimulates a sense of well being.


  1. Secure, respectful and recipricol relationships
  2. Partnerships
  3. High expectations and equity
  4. Respect for Diversity
  5. Ongoing learning and reflective practice


The principles of early childhood pedagogy underpin practice. Educators draw on a rich repertoire of pedagogical practices to promote children’s learning by:

  • adopting holistic approaches
  • being responsive to children
  • planning and implementing learning through play
  • intentional teaching
  • creating physical and social learning environments that have a positive impact on children’s learning
  • valuing the cultural and social contexts of children and their families
  • providing for continuity in experiences and enabling children to have successful transition
  • assessing and monitoring children’s learning to inform provision and to support children in achieving learning outcomes.

Learning Outcomes

The Framework conveys the highest expectations for all children’s learning from birth to five years and through the transitions to school. It communicates these expectations through the following five Learning Outcomes:

  • Children have a strong sense of identity
  • Children are connected with and contribute to their world
  • Children have a strong sense of well being
  • Children are confident and involved learners
  • Children are effective communicators.

The five Learning Outcomes are designed to capture the integrated and complex learning and development of all children across the birth to five age range.

Important note: For Kids Cottage, this framework is the minimum basis for our education and care program and is integrated with other suitable and appropriate approaches to our early childhood service. Our other adaptations but not limited to are DOCS NSW Curriculum Framework & Reggio Emillia

Translations of Belonging, Being and Becoming – The Early Years Learning Framework for Australia – Information for Families are available in the following languages (Please click the link)